Veggie Mummies

There’s something really delightful about cute food. Especially holiday themed food. I kept coming across these hot dog “mummies” and decided to bake some up.

pillsbury-mummies

I am not quite sure how long these hot dog mummies have been around for. My early childhood did not involve anything like this during Halloween. We often would eat traditional candy apples and cheap sugar cookies. My parents never really experimented in the kitchen and when they did it was often hectic. Growing up in a family of 6 required nothing but love, patience, and sweat from my parents who kept our wayward family afloat. As I have gotten older, I have tried to introduce some recipes into my parent’s home and these mummies seem fun enough.

I also decided to try these out for a Halloween party. I used this Pillsbury Recipe. I followed the outlined directions but made a few changes. I used some off-brand crescent roll dough, vegetarian hot dogs, 2 slices of cheese, and I did not spray the dough lightly with cooking spray. I also made sure that the cheese (on the mummy’s backside) was completely covered with dough to avoid longer clean up.

Anyways, the results were pretty great, and I’ll end up making these again for family and friends.

Happy Halloween baking!

– Skye

 

One thought on “Veggie Mummies

Leave a Reply

