Recycling Food Waste: Vegetarian Gravy

I recycle a majority of my used materials. From food scraps to old twine, I attempt to use everything in ways that are “green” and less damaging to the Earth. Lately, I have found it difficult to recycle food scraps and leftovers. The amount of food dishes that I have whipped up for events has significantly increased. The holiday season brings about an excess amount of food waste, which is a shame because so much of it can be reused!  So besides making compost, I am utilizing food scraps and leftovers in holiday-inspired sauces and dishes. I will be posting some of my creations on here for fun and inspiration.

Last week, I made a vegetarian French onion soup.  My husband tends to eat more soup filling than broth, and I am the exact opposite! After a few days, we had about 2 cups of broth left and I really did not want to toss it. I decided to make a vegetarian gravy with mushrooms.

Gravy is easy to make because it is a simple roux with added water or broth. I like to perfect base recipes, and get creative with additional textures and flavors. For example, if I want a spicy gravy, I’ll add chili flakes or powder. If I have aging mushrooms or onions in the fridge, I will add these to the gravy to create an interesting texture while limiting my food waste.

Here is my base recipe for gravy with “optional” ingredients…

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups vegetable/leftover soup broth
  • 2. 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 2-3 tablespoons margarine or butter
  • 3 garlic cloves, finely chopped (optional)
  • Salt/pepper to taste (optional)
  • 1 tablespoon soy sauce (optional)
  • 1/2-1 cup sliced mushrooms (optional)
  • ½-1 tablespoon coconut oil (optional)

Directions:

In a medium-sized saucepan, sauté the mushrooms, garlic, and coconut oil over a medium-high heat. After 5-7 minutes, reduce the heat to medium. Add the butter and let melt. Once the butter is melted, start adding the flour while continuously whisking to avoid lumps. While whisking, add the soy sauce and broth. Lower the heat to a medium-low and add pepper and salt to taste. After a couple of minutes, the gravy will start to thicken. Occasionally stir, and continue simmering until your preferred thickness.

 

img_9367

From soup to gravy… enjoy!

img_9388

3 thoughts on “Recycling Food Waste: Vegetarian Gravy

Leave a Reply

