Recycling Food Waste: Coffee-Infused Cookies

The other day, I realized that I throw away an excessive amount of used ground coffee. To reduce my food waste, I have been thinking about incorporating the old grounds into holiday recipes. I recently made a coconut oil and ground coffee body scrub to gift my family and friends with, but I wanted to try my hand at baking coffee-infused desserts.

I decided to bake some cookies. I do not eat large amounts of sweets, but I successfully attempted a semi-sweet and salty cookie. I added traditional flavors such as peanut butter and dark chocolate to balance out the sweetness. I also mixed in some chopped walnuts for texture.

Although I have personalized a few basic cookie recipes, I heavily adapted from this random Betty Crocker recipe. I made a few changes such as adding peanut butter, walnuts, and heavily reducing the suggested chocolate.

The recipe produces a soft and chewy texture and yields 15-18 cookies.

img_9501

Coffee, Dark Chocolate, and Peanut Butter Cookies Recipe

Ingredients:

  • ½ cup granulated sugar
  • ½ cup packed brown sugar
  • ½ cup butter or margarine, softened
  • 1 egg
  • 1 ½ cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 tablespoons of used coffee grounds
  • 4 tablespoons peanut butter
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • ¼ cup of chopped dark chocolate
  • ½ cup chopped walnuts (optional)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350°F. In a large bowl, mix sugars, peanut butter, butter and egg with a spoon, until there are no lumps. Stir in flour, ground coffee, salt, and the baking soda. Then stir in the chopped walnuts and dark chocolate. Stir until smooth.

Take a ¼ cup of dough and place drop dough at least 2 inches apart on an ungreased, large cookie sheet. I decided to use parchment paper to cover the cookie sheet, but this was my choice and not necessary. Also, I spaced my cookies out about 1 ½ inches apart which resulted in a lot of not so picture perfect cookies.

Bake for approximately 12 to 15 minutes or until golden brown. Cool for 30 minutes and enjoy.

img_9505

-Skye

One thought on “Recycling Food Waste: Coffee-Infused Cookies

Leave a Reply

