Recycling Food Waste: Coconut Oil and Ground Coffee Body Scrub

I drink a lot of coffee and always feel bad when I toss the used grounds. My guilt has increased over the last few weeks because Josh and I scored a dozen discounted bags of Stumptown Coffee.

I attempted to limit my coffee waste by baking some coffee-infused desserts. The other night I baked coffee cookies with dark chocolate and peanut butter. They were pretty delicious, but Josh and I do not eat an excessive amount of sweets.

However, I remembered that last year for Christmas, I was gifted with a small glass jar of homemade, coconut oil and ground coffee body scrub. With Christmas looming overhead, I decided to make a similar scrub to gift my family and friends with. I have always leaned towards making or buying gifts with sentimental value. I was taught at an early age that nothing could replace the thoughtfulness and love put into a homemade gift.

The scrub is straightforward and smells great. Plus, the ingredients have supposed health benefits for improving skin texture and appearance.

 

Coffee and Coconut Oil: Both are rich in antioxidants and filled with vitamins. The coffee in the scrub works as an exfoliate whereas the coconut oil moisturizes your skin. I have read that the caffeine in the coffee helps to reduce the appearance of cellulite, although I am not really sure if this is true. Regardless, after I use this scrub my skin feels firmer, hydrated, and more bright.

Sugar (or Salt): Acts as a second exfoliate. I chose brown sugar, but a sugar or even salt with a coarser texture can be used for deep exfoliation. If you do use a coarser sugar and/or salt, I suggest using this scrub only 1-2 times a week. Excessive exfoliation with a coarse scrub can irritate your skin.

Cinnamon: Pulls blood to the surface of skin—acts like a plumper—which can help smooth away lines. Cinnamon is also used in some acne treatments. I added cinnamon because a lot of the scrub recipes I came across called for it, and I love the smell. If you’re not a fan of cinnamon, you could probably use vanilla extract.

Coconut Oil and Ground Coffee Body Scrub Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 1 ½ cup used ground coffee
  • 1 cup sugar (I chose brown sugar)
  • ½ cup coconut oil (cold)
  • 1 tablespoon ground cinnamon or vanilla extract (optional)

Directions:

Add the coconut oil to a small saucepan and simmer on low. Once the coconut oil melts, remove from heat. Once the oil is room temperature, stir in the other ingredients. Mix the ingredients until they are well-combined. I suggest you test out a small amount of the scrub to ensure that the texture and coarseness are to your desired preference. Once you are satisfied with the scrub, you can store the mixture in an airtight container or mason jar.

img_9522

I decided to use small mason jars with vintage-inspired gift tags. Add a sprig or festive ribbon to create a traditional holiday look.

img_9519

-Skye

 

Leave a Reply

