Vegan Mushroom Ceviche

Another storm rolled through my area today and as much as I love the “gloom and doom” of winter, I am really missing everything about summer. I am looking forward to the longer days, warmer weather, and summer-inspired dishes.

One of these dishes I constantly crave is ceviche—also spelled cebiche. Growing up, basic fish and shrimp ceviche was a classic in my home. I associate ceviche with my cultural heritage, and decided it was about time I learned how to make this easy, highly adaptable recipe. I always feel a bit nostalgic when I cook childhood favorites and it makes me feel like I am at home. Plus, it feels great to have my family try and genuinely enjoy classic dishes turned vegan.

When I decided to go vegetarian six years ago—give or take with some hiccups—I really, really missed this seafood dish. I did not miss the fish, but the wonderful flavors of lime and spice. I also missed the texture and simplicity.

img_9942

Ceviche is typically made from raw fish or shrimp cured in lemon or lime juice, spiced with chili peppers, and combined with seasonings. Usually chopped onions, tomatoes, cilantro, salt, and pepper are added. I have had Southern Californian and Peruvian renditions. Both are great.

I had my first taste of mushroom ceviche last June at the Green Point, this restaurant in Cuzco, Peru. I have been wanting to make a mushroom ceviche ever since!

So, as I dreamed of warmer weather, I decided to try my hand at making this dish. The dish is very easy to make because you basically just chop/juice ingredients, combine, mix, and serve. I am very happy with how the ceviche turned out, and I plan to make it more often since it’s low calorie.

I used white mushrooms since I already had them on hand and they were starting to go bad.  The texture of the white mushrooms reminds me of shrimp and coctel de camarones- Mexican shrimp cocktails. I figure if I add more tomato sauce next time, I can get my Mexican shrimp cocktail fix too. I have read that oyster and shitake mushrooms are commonly used for mushroom ceviche, and I plan to use these the next time I make this.

This recipe takes about 15 minutes to make, and I recommend at least half an hour to chill.

Yields: 4-6 servings

ceviche

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb fresh chopped mushrooms (I used white and hand separated for a natural look)
  • ½ chopped red onion
  • 2 chopped tomatoes
  • 1 cup chopped cilantro
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • ½ teaspoon pepper
  • 1 teaspoon diced garlic
  • ½ cup lime juice (I like this citrus juicer)
  • 3 teaspoons lemon juice
  • 4 teaspoons tomato sauce
  • 1/2 cup diced cucumber (optional)
  • 1-2 chopped Jalapeño peppers- deseeded (optional)
  • 1 chopped avocado (optional)

Directions:

In a pan, boil 1 ½ cups water. Add 1 tablespoon lemon juice. Next, add mushrooms and simmer on a medium-heat for 3-4 minutes. Remove from heat and drain water. Set mushrooms aside to cool.

In a large (non-reactive) bowl, combine mushrooms and lime/lemon juices. Add the additional ingredients and mix. I used a large plastic salad bowl shaker, which was very effective at thoroughly mixing the ingredients together.

img_9941

You can serve immediately with your desired garnishes and side dishes. I like to pair mine with corn tortilla shells and/or chips, and a lot of Tapatio.

Since ceviche is traditionally served chilled, I put mine in the fridge for half an hour.

Enjoy!

-Skye

Leave a Reply

